top of page

Who is Rebecca and Why You Be Lying?

Updated: Nov 21, 2021






This has been on my mind since Monday, after visiting my boyfriend.


As I was undressing and prepping for our usual rough, wild, and explicit sex, his phone rings. I try not to be a nosey person or that girlfriend that likes to get Maury/Jerry Springer ghetto, so I kept my mouth shut. But, how could I miss her name when his phone sat directly in front of me as my shirt dropped to the floor.


Seeing Rebecca on the screen seemed to be purposeful and necessary for me, his girlfriend, to witness his secret.

I was stuck….


Frozen, unable to slide my Old Navy Tight Tight jeans off any further.

I wish I knew the look on my face when I saw her name. Because, I was unsure of the first feeling I had as I read Rebecca over and over again in my mind. Honestly, I was more surprised than angry or hurt. Before I got to his house, he questioned who was I texting. Suspecting another man might be involved.


As his phone got to the second ring, he grabbed it quickly answered, “Wrong number.”

The person spoke quietly. He repeated, “WRONG NUMBER!” and hung up the phone and sat on the bed to pull his pants off.

Initially, I didn’t think much of it and we went about what was originally started. However, it wasn’t until I got home when my common sense kicked in.


How does a stored name be a wrong number? Who is Rebecca?? Are there any Black women named Rebecca? Oh, shit!! Am I Beyonce and is she, Becky, with the good hair???

What the FUCK?!?!?

These questions ran through my mind but, I refused to respond in anger. Instead, I sent a text stating, 'I need a break.' Because I NEEDED a break before my mouth made things worse.

Its Friday and neither of us has spoken to the other. Honestly, what can I say? We did just have a similar situation last Valentine’s Day. But, it was my unlocked phone that told my secret.


It was a beautiful and romantic Valentine's Day and evening, well until he returned my phone to me minutes after dropping me off. I remember going to bed thinking, how awesome my flowers and gifts were. Never realizing I didn’t have my phone with me.


About 15 minutes later he returned my phone to my hand with a vengeance. Handing it to me with force and never turning around as I said, “Bye, Love. Have a good day at work.”


He responded minutes later with back-to-back texts that restated all the naughty and sexy messages from men that were not him. My private lovers that my boyfriend suspected I entertained. Lovers he should have never known to be real.


We just got back together last May, how could I really get upset with him and Rebecca? But I was, it has bothered me and upset my sleep since reading the name Rebecca on my man’s phone.

Now we are on pause…until I can grab him by his neck and yell, Tiffany Haddish style:



WHO IS REBECCA AND WHY YOU BE LYING???
22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page