top of page

What's a Masters of Arts in Creative Writing?

In 1998, I was a junior in college and my goals to be a lawyer were impossible to manifest. A 2000 graduation was must but, I was clueless about getting a job with a Bachelor's in English. i was lost and hopeless until my aunt gave me an idea.



“Well, I’m not going to law school,” I shared with my aunt Karen.

My aunt already knew I dropped my second major and chose to focus on majoring in English.


“You can always go back home and be a teacher,” my aunt suggested.

The red hair of my favorite high school teacher popped up in my mind but, was quickly replaced with the horrors of living in Chicago.


“True, I could be an English teacher. Mr. Scotese is the reason why I fell in love with British Lit and majored in English in the first place.”


“You could do it,” encouraged my aunt,”I think your president, Baby Bush is starting a program where all high school teachers have to get their MAT, Masters of Arts in Teaching to get hired..”

“Really? Sounds interesting but, I don’t know if I want to teach kids? What do I need to be a college professor like you, Dr. Dace?” I giggled.


“Since you want to be the next Toni Morrison so bad,’ she mocked my Facebook status, “you could get your Masters of Arts in English or the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. You could teach at a community college or a college with either degree.”


“Truman has the MA in English,” I referenced my college, “but not the MFA thingy. What’s the difference?” I asked.


“The MA is more focused on literature or Linguistics,” I cringed at that word, “while the MFA is more focused on the craft of writing, the “how” behind it. The MFA is the highest degree in Creative Writing.”


“No, PhD?”


“Nope, the MFA is better than the MA but not as good as a PhD in English.”


I was intrigued. Later that day, I began researching both programs and how each was ranked. Yahoo taught me A Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing is a graduate-level degree program designed to provide advanced education and training in the field of Creative Writing. The program typically includes a combination of workshops, seminars, literature courses, and a final thesis project in which students develop and refine their Creative Writing skills. These programs are usually offered by universities and colleges and are designed to help aspiring writers enhance their craft, develop a deeper understanding of literature, and prepare for careers in writing, publishing, academia, and related fields.


I wanted all of that! It excited me to know I could write what I wanted and how I wanted for a Master’s degree. There were no CORE classes or unnecessary electives. I could write, read, write about what I read and share it with my peers. It was perfect and going to Emerson College opened the doors to my future as a book and magazine publisher. Here are some reasons why you might consider pursuing an MFA in Creative Writing:


1. Focused Skill Development: An MFA program offers a structured and supportive environment for honing your writing skills. Through workshops, you'll receive feedback from peers and experienced faculty, helping you improve your writing style, technique, and storytelling abilities.

2. Networking Opportunities: MFA programs often provide opportunities to connect with fellow writers, professors, and industry professionals. These connections can be valuable for sharing work, collaborating on projects, and getting insights into the publishing world.

3. Guidance and Mentorship: Many MFA programs pair students with faculty mentors who are established writers themselves. This mentorship can provide personalized guidance, critiques, and advice on your writing journey.


4. Exposure to Different Genres: MFA programs often encourage exploration of different writing genres, allowing you to expand your creative horizons and experiment with various forms of writing.

5. Time and Space to Write: Pursuing an MFA can provide you with dedicated time and space to focus on your writing without the distractions of daily life. This can be especially beneficial for writers looking to make significant progress on a novel, collection of stories, or other creative projects.


6. Credentials and Publishing Opportunities: While an MFA is not a guaranteed path to publication, some programs offer opportunities to publish in literary journals or provide guidance on submitting your work to publishers and agents. Additionally, having an MFA can add credibility to your writing credentials.

7. Teaching Opportunities: Many MFA graduates go on to teach creative writing at the college level. If you're interested in teaching writing to others, an MFA can provide you with the qualifications and experience to pursue such opportunities.

8. Community and Feedback: Being part of an MFA program can expose you to a

community of writers who share your passion. This community can offer emotional support, creative collaboration, and constructive criticism that can help you grow as a writer.

It's important to note that while an MFA can offer many benefits, it's not the only path to becoming a successful writer. Some writers choose not to pursue an MFA and instead focus on self-study, writing groups, and other learning opportunities. Ultimately, the decision to pursue an MFA was based on my individual goals to be a Pulitzer Prize winning author


Overtime and with maturity, my MFA gave me the authority to not just teach at the collegiate level but, also DreamWriterInk! Writing & Publishing and all her services to transform writers into authors.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page