top of page

Writing & Snacking



I still battle with Peter Pan syndrome. It’s not that I don’t want to grow up, I just don’t want to be an adult, all the time. There is a difference between the two. Like most people over 21, I love being an adult, especially when I do it well. Teaching students and customers how to write gives me power and my adulting soars and dominates. However, when it comes to writing, I often find myself being awake when the sun rises and snacking on things that crunch and leave crumbs on my keyboard and sheets.



This late-night affair has been going on since I wrote my first book in fifth grade to be followed by another in my Junior year in high school. College only made it worse because now, I had a crew to stay up the light nights to study and order pizza or visit the always-open diner, Pancake City.

Next to writing dieting has been included in my lifestyle since sixth grade. It began with Slim Fast, then Centrium milkshakes to fit my cheerleading uniform. The Cabbage Soup Diet, Cokes, and Flaming Hots filled my high school diet. College canceled all that and sixty pounds doubled the traditional Freshman Fifteen. It wasn’t until I turned 24 and began to take control of my eating habits. I signed up for Weight Watchers and my mind began to see food from a different perspective. Getting full on my 5-7 servings of fruit or vegetables kept me satisfied and killed my sweet tooth and the rolls around my waste.



Now, I’m in my mid-40s and have seen my weight jump up and down. I’ve noticed during times of depression I ate excessively and wrote barely. I’ve also learned I was addicted to food, it provided an unhealthy comfort when I was sad and lonely. In an effort not to feed my bad habit, I now snack on healthy foods and avoid the potato chip and candy aisles while grocery shopping. Yes, I still cheat every other month or so but, include the following adult foods in my kitchen for my late-night writing dates:


1. Complex Carbohydrates: Whole grains like oats, brown rice, and whole wheat items.

2. Healthy Fats: Foods rich in omega-3 fatty acids, like fatty fish (salmon), and flaxseeds, support my brain health and cognitive function.

3. Protein: Lean sources of protein like poultry, tofu, beans, lentils, and Greek yogurt can help maintain energy levels and keep you feeling full. I gave up red meat over five years ago and feel fantastic and light.

4. Fruits and Vegetables: I take 9-12 vitamins on a daily basis. I enjoy eating and preparing berries, leafy greens, and colorful vegetables are particularly beneficial to creativity. These provide essential vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants that contribute to overall health.

5. Nuts and Seeds: Almonds, cashews, and sunflower seeds are great snacks that provide healthy fats and protein. These are also great because they leave less grease stains than chips

6. Hydration: Staying hydrated is crucial and so super hard for me. I LOVE coffee in a bad bladder way!! It’s annoying but, I will drink two cups of water for every mug of coffee I digest. Water, herbal teas, and infused water with fruits and herbs can help keep you focused and alert.


7. Brain-Boosting Foods: Certain foods are believed to enhance cognitive function, including blueberries, turmeric, broccoli, and spinach.

8. Small, Frequent Meals: Eating smaller meals and snacks throughout the day can help maintain steady energy levels and prevent energy crashes.

9. Avoid Excessive Sugar and Processed Foods: These are my enemy and stop me from achieving my weight and size goals. It’s a hate-and-love relationship. They lead to energy spikes and crashes, which can negatively impact your focus and productivity.

Replacing my bad habits with these delicious and healthy snacks not only keeps me writing and alert but increases my metabolism. There are no excuses for me not to write when I have a happy

tummy.


August 2023



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page